ClanT2K Forums  

Go Back   ClanT2K Forums > T2K Forums > T2K Public Discussion Board
User Name
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-27-2001, 02:15 AM   #1
Q2M-General
Wise guy eh...?
 
Q2M-General's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: TX
Posts: 3,276
Send a message via ICQ to Q2M-General
72Mbps Through My Cable Modem!!!!!?

I joined Thunderdome and I noticed my ping was jumpy, so I did a trace route and one of the San Antonio routers was jumping from 28ms to 160ms.

So I opened up 20 or 25 MSDOS windows and I mass pinged the laggy router for 30 or 40 seconds. I opened up DU Meter to see how much data was actually being sent.

72mbps peak... average was 43mbps. How is that possible?

DU Meter doesn't lie... I have used it for a while now, and it is pretty accurate.

Here is a screenshot:

http://www.Q2Mhq.com/temp/DOSPing.gif


I wonder why my regular upload speed is so slow, but through dos it is so fast.<b> Is it because of the different type of network protocols?</b>

Last edited by Q2M-General : 07-27-2001 at 02:19 AM.
Q2M-General is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2001, 05:57 AM   #2
Elvis
.
 
Elvis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Posts: 4,481
Send a message via ICQ to Elvis
The cable modems & providers, have various options available as far as upload/download speeds. When I first got Midsouth RoadRunner, we had 10Mbps down & 768kbps up & I used to get phenomenal downloads. In the not to distant past, there has become what is known as 'DOCSIS' (think that's right). This is a standard which is to be used across all cable networks for compatibility. This 'standard/recommendation' calls for 2Mbps down & 384 up. So RoadRunner is now giving me 20% of what I used to get download, and 50% of what I used to upload (for the same price of course).

This is why I switched to this piece of shit, unreliable DSL. I get much better gaming pings, with very little loss of overall speed both up & down (DSL I'm on is 1.5Mbps down & 256k up. Check into your newsgroups, or call their helpless desk, and see what they know. They need not come out to your home, to change these settings, they're all done externally to you.

Elvis
__________________

__________________

[T2K]Elvis


Elvis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2001, 06:01 AM   #3
Viruseater[X-D]
Moderator
 
Viruseater[X-D]'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Newport Beach, CA
Posts: 6,053
Send a message via ICQ to Viruseater[X-D]
Re: 72Mbps Through My Cable Modem!!!!!?

Quote:
Originally posted by Q2M-General
I joined Thunderdome and I noticed my ping was jumpy, so I did a trace route and one of the San Antonio routers was jumping from 28ms to 160ms.

So I opened up 20 or 25 MSDOS windows and I mass pinged the laggy router for 30 or 40 seconds. I opened up DU Meter to see how much data was actually being sent.

72mbps peak... average was 43mbps. How is that possible?

DU Meter doesn't lie... I have used it for a while now, and it is pretty accurate.

Here is a screenshot:

http://www.Q2Mhq.com/temp/DOSPing.gif


I wonder why my regular upload speed is so slow, but through dos it is so fast.<b> Is it because of the different type of network protocols?</b>


Yes it is physically impossible.

Your cable modem (look at your network connection) is only a 10megabit connection.

There's asolutely no way in the world that would even be close to possible.
Viruseater[X-D] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2001, 06:19 AM   #4
Grafinator
Moderator
 
Grafinator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: York,PA
Posts: 5,202
Send a message via ICQ to Grafinator Send a message via Yahoo to Grafinator
it could be the fact that requests are timing out
causin the misreport
__________________
Grafinator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2001, 08:51 AM   #5
ragin asian
No Life
 
ragin asian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Austin, TX, USA
Posts: 1,330
Send a message via ICQ to ragin asian
hey elvis how do u find a newsgroup? i have swbell, and this has been buggin me for some time.
ragin asian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2001, 09:11 AM   #6
Elvis
.
 
Elvis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Posts: 4,481
Send a message via ICQ to Elvis
Well, each newsgroup for your ISP, would have it's own unique newsgroup server. Not knowing what all you have for your system, the easiest way would be to (in IE 5.5) go to 'TOOLS' then 'Mail & News' then 'Read News'. At that point, if you don't have your news server setup, it should give you the properties, to do so. BUT you will need theinformation from your ISP/Provider for the 'news server' for example, Mine IS - news.mem.bellsouth.net.
GL

Elvis
__________________

__________________

[T2K]Elvis


Elvis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2001, 10:38 AM   #7
Dr. Demento
Super Villain
 
Dr. Demento's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: Nexus
Posts: 3,014
Send a message via ICQ to Dr. Demento Send a message via Yahoo to Dr. Demento
What speed does your cable modem connect to your computer at?

I mean if its only 10 meg half duplex then there is no way you saw that speed since you can go faster than the physical medium.
Dr. Demento is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2001, 12:19 PM   #8
Brutus
Shibby
 
Brutus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Posts: 2,517
Quote:
Originally posted by Elvis
The cable modems & providers, have various options available as far as upload/download speeds. When I first got Midsouth RoadRunner, we had 10Mbps down & 768kbps up & I used to get phenomenal downloads. In the not to distant past, there has become what is known as 'DOCSIS' (think that's right). This is a standard which is to be used across all cable networks for compatibility. This 'standard/recommendation' calls for 2Mbps down & 384 up. So RoadRunner is now giving me 20% of what I used to get download, and 50% of what I used to upload (for the same price of course).

This is why I switched to this piece of shit, unreliable DSL. I get much better gaming pings, with very little loss of overall speed both up & down (DSL I'm on is 1.5Mbps down & 256k up. Check into your newsgroups, or call their helpless desk, and see what they know. They need not come out to your home, to change these settings, they're all done externally to you.

Elvis



I believe its spelled Dosis..thats what RR told me anyway
Brutus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2001, 03:02 PM   #9
Elvis
.
 
Elvis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Posts: 4,481
Send a message via ICQ to Elvis
As usual, RoadRunner doesn't know their head from their ass! Which is why I'm on DSL right now.
DOCSIS Info

Elvis
__________________

__________________

[T2K]Elvis


Elvis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2001, 04:37 PM   #10
Revox
monkeybutt
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Posts: 2,576
From the looks of that SS you have ZoneAlarm blocking all incoming and outgoing traffic...that may be causing wierd reports.
Revox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2001, 05:07 PM   #11
Evil
Ling Ling
 
Evil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: Texas
Posts: 11,858
Send a message via ICQ to Evil Send a message via AIM to Evil
Actually you have Zone Alarm's internet lock on. That definately will stop your connection in it's tracks.
Evil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2001, 05:54 PM   #12
Grafinator
Moderator
 
Grafinator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: York,PA
Posts: 5,202
Send a message via ICQ to Grafinator Send a message via Yahoo to Grafinator
LMAO

i didnt even notice that when i looked at the SS

yup, LOCK is on
NO PACKET TRAFFIC FOR YOU!!
__________________
Grafinator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2001, 06:48 PM   #13
eXile
True
 
eXile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: on the outside looking in
Posts: 1,468
Doh! hahahah
eXile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2001, 07:43 PM   #14
sLy1
Moderator
 
sLy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 28,760
Send a message via ICQ to sLy1 Send a message via AIM to sLy1


Nice catch
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by S0L -=CD
If you come visit, I'll let you sit on it.
sLy1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2001, 10:07 PM   #15
forbidden-=eKp=-
Cobra Officer
 
forbidden-=eKp=-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Lansing, MI
Posts: 3,173
d'oh!
__________________
forbidden
forbidden-=eKp=- is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:43 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.14
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.